Today’s Poll

League Championships concludes Nelson Curling Club Season

The Nelson Daily Sports
By The Nelson Daily Sports
March 29th, 2017

The Nelson Curling Club put a ribbon on a great season at the Heritage City facility with its annual Club Championship Saturday.

Champions were crowned in the Ladies, Men’s and Mixed Leagues.

Marla Dreher edged out Allison Sutherland to claim the Ladies League title.

Dreher, third Deena Cownden, second Shadow Biln and lead Gloria Beecham defeated the Sutherland rink of third Deirdre Lang, Tracey Mozel and lead Sheila Ryan.

In Men’s Final, Brett McLellan put a steal of three on the board in the fifth end to double Fred Thomson 6-3.

McLellan added another steal of one in the sixth end to build the insurmountable lead.

Team McLellan included third Chris Osborne, second Devon Duncan and lead Shane Learmont.

Team Thomson included third Kevin Thompson, second Chad Staten and led Eric Thompson.

For the final spares Jamie Tedesco and Corey Anderson filled in for the Thomson rink.

In the Mixed League Final, Rick Cutler needed an extra end to lead his rink to a win over Team Douglas.

The Cutler rink includes Cutler, third Jana Bidwell, second Mike Brennan and lead Danyell Rosenbaum.

Peter Douglas is the skip, Karen McGinnis is third, Tammy Douglas is the second and Andy Gullen is lead on Team Douglas.

Categories: Sports

Other News Stories