Today’s Poll

Four candidates compete for vacant seat on Nelson City Council

Nelson Daily Staff
By Nelson Daily Staff
February 21st, 2021

Chief Election Officer for the City of Nelson, Sarah Winton, announced Friday that four candidates have successfully completed the nomination process for the empty seat on council created by the resignation of Brittny Anderson.

Winton said in a media release that Nicole Charlwood, Daniel Nolan, Brenton Raby and Joshua Wapp have all submitted nomination papers as candidates for the City of Nelson By-election in March.

Former councilor Anderson submitted her formal resignation on Monday, December 14th, 2020.

Anderson, running under the NDP banner, won the MLA seat for Nelson-Creston in the Provincial Election in October 2020.

Anderson’s resignation triggered the By-election process.

On January 12, 2021 Council appointed Winton as Chief Election Officer and Gabriel Bouvet-Boisclair as Deputy Election Officer.

Anyone wishing to vote by mail-in ballot has until March 10, 2021 to make the request.

Advance voting days are March 17 and March 24 at City Hall.

General voting day is Saturday, March 27, 2021 from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. at the Prestige Lakeside Resort at 701 Lakeside Drive in Nelson, BC.

Categories: General

Other News Stories