Today’s Poll

Hawks handle Storm to clinch Cyclone Taylor Cup

The Nelson Daily Sports
By The Nelson Daily Sports
April 10th, 2017

The Beaver Valley Nitehawks scored five unanswered goals to dump the Campbell River Storm 6-2 in the final of the Cyclone Taylor Cup Sunday in Creston.

Kootenay International Junior Hockey League champion Beaver Valley, which last won the Cyclone Taylor Cup in 2014, now represents BC at the Keystone Cup later this month in Manitoba.

This is the third BC Championship for the Beaver Valley franchise and the second straight Cyclone Taylor Cup for the KIJHL. In 2016, 100 Mile House won the title.

Campbell River twice took one goal leads in a wide open first period that saw five lead changes.

However, after Dylan Heppler scored his second of the period to tie the game at 2-2, the Hawks scored four consecutive times en route to the BC Junior B Hockey League title.

Blake Sidoni, Karten Jang, Bradley Ross and Nolan Percival also scored for Beaver Valley.

Pearce Messer and Carter Hikichi replied for the Storm, winners of the Vancouver Island Junior Hockey League.

Tallon Kramer was in goal for the Hawks, which outshot the Island squad 34-28.

Beaver Valley defeated the Storm 6-0 to open the four-team tournament that sees winners of the KIJHL, VIJHL and Pacific Junior Hockey League clash for the BC Junior B title.

Hawks lost to Aldergrove Friday before clinching a spot in the final with a win over KIJHL rival Creston Valley Thunder Cats.

In the Bronze medal contest, Creston Valley Thunder Cats defeated Aldergrove Kodiaks 3-0.

Categories: Sports

Other News Stories