Today’s Poll

Selkirk College Music Students Celebrate End of Semester at Spiritbar

Bob Hall
By Bob Hall
December 4th, 2014

Selkirk College Contemporary Music & Technology Program students are capping the first half of the school year with an end of semester bash that strikes a chord of bringing attention to affordable housing in the Nelson community.

Four student-based bands will take the stage at Nelson’s Spiritbar on December 11 with an eclectic mix of music that shines a spotlight on the burgeoning talent in the program. All proceeds from the show will go towards the Nelson CARES Society’s “Room to Live” campaign which is raising $690,000 to fund a renewal of Ward Street Place, a 38-unit affordable housing block in downtown Nelson.

“A gig like this brings people together,” says music program instructor Laura Landsberg. “We like bringing Selkirk College together with the community whenever possible and a semester ending show like this is a perfect opportunity.”

Students in the Nelson-based program have been putting together the show on the Tenth Street Campus for several weeks. As is the case in the music industry, the December 11 show will be the end product of many hours of preparation and planning.

“It’s about learning the process that gets you to the show,” says Landsberg. “We are teaching the students about the world of music and there are so many of levels of actually getting to the gig itself.”

All four ensembles include the Selkirk College instructor who has been guiding the students and will join the band on stage for the performances.

The 10th Precinct is led by instructor Paul Landsberg (guitar) and will be a jazz-fusion set featuring James Villa (keys), Nathan Swift (bass) and Aybars Savat (drums).

Nowhere Band is a tribute to The Beatles led by Laura Landsberg (vocals) and featuring Amanda Cawley (keys), Paloma Pendarkar (keys), Graham Stark (drums), Jon Exley (bass), David Hecht (guitar), Ben Sefton (guitar/vocals), and Travis Flello (vocals).

Instructor Mark Spielman (bass) has been guiding Funk-A-Rama, a band that will feature David Yates (guitar), Brennan Buglioni (drums), Paloma Pendarkar (piano), Wes Hughes (guitar) and Lucas Burrows (sax).

Generator will perform original rock led by instructor Melody Diachun (vocals) and featuring Abhijith Ramesh (vocals/keys), Ashley Pearce (rhythm guitar), Parker Threlkeld (vocals/guitar), Brian Posnikoff (vocals/bass) and Troy Jeffery (drums).

“There’s nothing like having a show to pull everything together and to give the students more passion for the second semester,” says Landsberg. “It will be a great night of music for an important project being undertaken in our community.”

The show starts at 9 p.m. (doors open at 8:30 p.m.). The cover for the evening is $10 at the door and $5 for students.

Categories: General

Other News Stories