Today’s Poll

Heritage Roofing Storm capture first Rec Hockey Championship

The Nelson Daily Sports
By The Nelson Daily Sports
April 3rd, 2024

The Heritage Roofing Storm broke through a long drought to capture the 2024 Kootenay Rec Hockey League Championship recently at the NDCC Arena.

The Storm, playing in the Rec Hockey league since 2015, swept the Backroads Bears 3-2 in the best-of-three final series to claim the title.

The Storm won the opener 5-1 on goals by Linden Horswill and Coleton Dawson, each scoring twice, and Ben Starbuck.

Heritage Roofing, finished the season with a 21-3-5 record, clinched the title with a 5-3 victory in Game two.

The Storm jumped all over the Bear, scoring four times in the opening frame.

Backroads rallied back with three unanswered goals to cut the margin to 4-3

However, Nick Phippen scored the insurance marker in the final two minutes of the game to seal the victory for Heritage Roofing.

Matt Brind’Amour scored twice, and Arthur Andrews and Ben Woodward added singles for the Storm.

The Storm swept the Warriors — 5-1 and 6-2 — to advance to the final while the Bears needed a thrilling Game 3 victory over Hume Hotel to book a ticket to the Championship series.

The Storm netminder, Cory Berndt was easily the team Most Valuable Player season winning the league goaltender trophy for the best goals against average with 3.10 and an even better 2.33 in playoffs.

Tyler Podgorenko 23 goals and 19 assists in 16 games, and Arthur Andrews with 21 goals 18 assists in 16 games, led the Storm in scoring.

The Storm includes, Ben Metzger, Nick Phippen, John Thequan, Matt Brind’Amour, Ben Woodward, Troy Petrick, Ben Starbuck, Arthur Andrews, Johnny Johnson, Cory Berndt, Coleton Dawson, Braelyn Patton, Derek Steep, Tyler Podgorenko, Justin Podgorenko, Briar McNaney, Amit Bharbra, John Katountas, Linden Horswill and Noah Stevens.

Braelyn Patton and John Katountas are the only two players that remain on the Storm’s first season back in 2015/2016.

Categories: Sports

Other News Stories