Today’s Poll

Kootenay Columbia MP selected to National Security and Intelligence Committee of Parliamentarians

The Nelson Daily Staff
By The Nelson Daily Staff
June 16th, 2021

Prime Minister, Justin Trudeau announced Tuesday that Rob Morrison, Kootenay Columbia MP, is one of five new members of the National Security and Intelligence Committee of Parliamentarians. 

Chaired by the Honourable David J. McGuinty since its launch in 2017, this multi-party Committee includes representatives from both the House of Commons and the Senate.

“Security and intelligence must be synonymous with transparency and accountability,” The Rt. Hon. Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada said Tuesday in a media release.

“Together, parliamentarians on the Committee will continue to play an essential role in ensuring that our national security and intelligence community is held accountable for its practices, and that it has the tools needed to keep Canadians safe.”

The committee provides a non-partisan approach to the review of national security and intelligence activities carried out across the Government of Canada.

This includes activities undertaken by the Canada Border Services Agency, the Communications Security Establishment, Canadian Security Intelligence Service, and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, among many others.

The Committee provides the Prime Minister with an annual report, and special reports when needed. The reports, which include findings and recommendations, are tabled in both the House of Commons and the Senate.

This is the highest appointment provided to an Opposition Member of Parliament from Kootenay-Columbia.

Morrison was first designated the role of Shadow Minister for National Security by Opposition Leader, Erin O’Toole.

Other appointees include Leona Alleslev, Conservative MP for Aurora—Oak Ridges—Richmond Hill;  Stéphane Bergeron of the Bloc Québécois; Liberal MP for London North Centre, Peter Fragiskatos and Liberal MP for Mississauga—Erin Mills, Iqra Khalid.

The new appointees join existing committee members:

  • Don Davies, NDP
  • Dennis Dawson, Senate
  • The Honourable Frances Lankin, P.C., C.M., Senate
  • The Honourable David J. McGuinty, P.C., Liberal (Chair)
  • Brenda Shanahan, Liberal
  • Vernon White, Senate

Categories: GeneralPolitics

Other News Stories