Today’s Poll

Team Salviulo off to 2020 BC Men’s Curling Championships

The Nelson Daily Sports
By The Nelson Daily Sports
December 20th, 2019

Team Salviulo of Nelson earned a berth to the 2020 BC Men’s Curling Championships in Cranbrook.

Skip Nando Salviulo, third Jamie Ingram, second Devin Anderson and lead Reece Whitehead won one of the two Kootenay berths up for grabs at the Men’s Zone Playdowns held this past weekend in Kimberley. Both Ingram and Anderson are junior curling age.

Chris Medford of Cranbrook won the zone title by defeating Salviulo 9-1 in the Kootenay Championship.

Team Salviulo edged Josh Firman of Creston/Beaver Valley in the semi-final round 8-7 to advance to the final.

Team Salviulo scored a single in the tenth end to snap a 7-7 tie en route to defeating Firman.

Firm early lost 7-3 to Medford, who last month won the Doug Bothamley Memorial Cashspiel in Nelson.

Both Salviulo and Medford now represent the Kootenay zone at the 2020 BC Men’s Curling Championships January 28 to Feb 2, 2020, in Cranbrook.

Western Financial Place is the host for both the Men’s and Women’s 2020 Championships.

Categories: Sports

Other News Stories