Today’s Poll

Special Board Meeting welcomes Kootenay Lake School Trustees

By Contributor
November 16th, 2018

The Kootenay Lake School District held its swearing-in ceremony at a Special Open Board Meeting Tuesday, November 13th.

The ceremony marks the beginning of a four-year term for the newly elected board and affirms the roles and responsibilities for all board representatives.

Four new trustees are joining the Board of Education: Susan Chew (Salmo, Taghum & Blewett), Allan Gribbin (South Rural Zone), Sheri Walsh (City of Nelson, Bealby Point) and Becky Coons (Town of Creston).

They join incumbents: Cody Beebe (South Rural Zone), Bill Maslechko (City of Nelson, Bealby Point), Sharon Nazaroff (Slocan Valley, Bonnington), Lenora Trenaman (Crawford Bay, East Shore, North Shore) and Dawn Lang (Village of Kaslo & North Rural Zone, Area D).

All were sworn into office for the next four years 2018-2022.

“I am most looking forward to working alongside the new trustees who will bring revitalized energy and diversity to the table,” said Lenora Trenaman after accepting the nomination to return as Board Chair this year.

“I believe this will complement the valuable experience and knowledge of our returning trustees.”

Trenaman was first elected to the Board in 2004 and is now serving her fourth term.

Sheri Walsh is thrilled to return as a trustee, having served a two-year term in 2012-2014 before going on to serve as DPAC chair for the district. “I bring back with me four years of helping parents advocate for their children. This experience has given me a broader understanding of the strengths of and constraints on public education which I hope will make me a better trustee.”

Newly elected trustee Susan Chew has held leadership roles on numerous boards at local, regional and provincial levels, and is excited by the prospect of working for our youth, communities, educators and staff in support of public education in this position.

The District would also like to acknowledge and thank the departing trustees Bob Wright, Heather Suttie and Rebecca Huscroft for their service on the Board of Education. 

“We so appreciate your engagement and advocacy for the students and staff in our school district and wish you the very best,” expressed Superintendent Dr. Christine Perkins.

Photo Caption: The new Kootenay Lake School Board trustees, from left, Sharon Nazaroff, Allan Gribbin, Lenora Trenaman, Dawn Lang, Sheri Walsh, Cody Beebe, Susan Chew and Bill Maslechko. — Submitted photo

Categories: Uncategorized


Other News Stories