Today’s Poll

KCR hosts earn National Radio Award recognition

By Contributor
June 22nd, 2018

Kootenay Co-op Radio is super proud to announce that four of our volunteer programmers have won three National Campus and Community Radio Association awards for 2017 held recently in Fredricton, NB.

Every year the NCRA hosts the awards to celebrate the best in campus and community radio from across the country. 

Tanya Coad (host and producer of the show Climate of Change) won for Best Current Affairs Program; this is Tanya’s third NCRA award. 

Jeff Flood (host and producer of ¡Oye!) won for Best Third Language Program. This is Jeff’s first show on Kootenay Co-op Radio but he has previous campus radio experience from Carleton University (CKCU) in 1974-77. Jeff is taking a break from the radio show as he is busy with being on the Board of Directors for KCR. 

Show hosts and producers Jeff Pilsner and Ana Bokstrom won the Women’s Hands and Voices Award for their show ‘Shift Happens”. Jeff and Ana have been doing this show for 5 years and they have no previous radio experience outside of Kootenay Co-op Radio. You can hear ‘Shift Happens’ every Tuesday from 2-4 p.m. 

Kootenay Co-op Radio wants to congratulate our 2017 NCRA Award winners as well as thank all of our volunteer show hosts, board and committee members, and staff for all the hard work they put into making quality local content available. Every season KCR invites the community to make become a host of their very own radio show. KCR provides all the training and support needed. We invite you to join our Community Powered Radio on on the air. 

“This year the awards handed out recognized a talented and diverse range of top quality programming from across Canada. The winning submissions this year are a great example of the way which volunteers in campus and community radio work to elevate and engage community voices, and promote local music,” said Barry Rooke, NCRA/ANREC Executive Director. 

The three winning show and episode description:

Current Affairs Programming 

Tanya Coad at CJLY-FM (Nelson, BC). Mr. President, the World is Watching! -an Inauguration Day special is a one-hour program which aired in January of 2017. The show was produced by Tanya Coad to address the concerns of environmentalists fearing the repercussions of a Donald Trump presidency. The show fuses music, humor, and a wide assortment of vocal clips, including people in the street, and social and enviro champions such as Bernie Sanders, Elizabeth Warren, Ralph Nader, Noam Chomsky, Bill McKibben and others. This is Tanya’s third NCRA award. 

Best in Third Language Programming 

Jeff Flood at CJLY-FM (Nelson, BC). Oye! is a weekly program dedicated to the music of Latin America, Spain and Portugal. Individual shows may survey particular themes, such as the Mexican Day of the Dead (November 1) and International Day of Tango (December 10), providing historical context and curated music selections. 

Women’s Hands and Voices 

Ana Bokstrom and Jeff Pilsner at CJLY-FM (Nelson, BC). Shift Happens covers the positive shifts in people’s lives and communities. The submission episode was a live interview with a local sculptor named Rabia. She began sculpting at 60 and is a powerful example of living your life with creativity and passion. 

Categories: General

Other News Stories