Today’s Poll

Joseph, Rickaby pace Team 1999-2003 to top prize at Bomber Alumni Basketball Tournament

The Nelson Daily Sports
By The Nelson Daily Sports
December 28th, 2016

Florian Joseph and Chase Rickaby were too hot to handle in sparking Team 2006-08 to a 72-63 victory over Team 1999-2003 in the final of the 2016 Bomber Alumni Basketball Tournament Boxing Day at the Trafalgar Middle School Gymnasium.

The dynamic duo of former Bomber point guards led the victors to the early lead then snuffed out any rallies by Team 1999-2003 with shots from downtown.

Joel DeVito and Ben Irving also chipped in on the scoresheet for Team 2006-08.

Mike Vance, Matthew Fuhr, Jeremy Phelan, Brody Blair and Leo Grypma paced Team 1999-2003.

Team 2006-08, consisting of Florian Joseph, Chase and Clay Rickaby, Ben Irving, Joel DeVito and Ryan Moore, advanced to the final by stopping Team 2013-18 72-63 and Team 2010-11 64-52.

Team 1999-2003 opened by outlasting Team 2004-05 73-57 before edging the West Kootenay Men’s Basketball League All-Stars 62-58.

All proceeds from the Bomber Alumni Basketball Tournament benefit the Blair D’Andrea Alumni Scholarship Society.

The scholarship fund supports development of local grassroots basketball and student-athletes with post-secondary pursuits.

D’Andrea, who was instrumental in the development of high school basketball while teaching at L.V. Rogers in Nelson, Salmo Secondary and Mount Sentinel High School in South Slocan, died suddenly in 2013.

Categories: Sports

Other News Stories