Today’s Poll

Wranglers rally to knock off host Cougars to claim 2016 Cyclone Taylor Cup

The Nelson Daily Sports
By The Nelson Daily Sports
April 11th, 2016

The 100 Mile House Wranglers is the second Kootenay International Junior Hockey League team in three years to capture the Cyclone Taylor Cup.

Ryan Friesen scored in the final minute of the game, snapping a 4-4 tie to spark the Wranglers to a 5-4 victory over host Victoria Cougars in the Cyclone Taylor Championships Sunday in the Provincial Capital.

Friesen scored at the tail end of the power play to give the KIJHL champs the victory. Beaver Valley is the last KIJHL team to capture the Provincial Junior B title, won in Nelson in 2014.

Victoria rallied from a 2-0 first period deficit, 3-1 in the third period, scoring three consecutive goals to grab a 4-3 lead in the thrilling final.

However, Brett Harris, with his second of the game, tied the contest at 4-4 with a goal 14 minutes into the final period before Friesen netted the winner.

Justin Bond and Nick McCabe also scored for the Wranglers.

Dom Kolbeins, with a pair, Jordan Passmore and John Kretzschmar replied for Victoria.

100 Mile House, holding period leads of 1-0 and 2-1, out shot the host Cougars 38-32 in the game.

Zane Steeves registered the win in goal for the Wranglers while Gregory Maggio took the loss for Victoria.

The loss was the first of the tournament for the host Cougars, who opened the tournament with a 4-2 victory over the Wranglers.

100 Mile House then rebounded to defeated Campbell River Storm of the Vancouver Island Junior Hockey League and Mission City Outlaws of the Pacific Junior Hockey League.

In the Bronze medal game, Campbell River doubled Mission City 8-4.

The Wranglers, trying to follow the 2014 Cyclone Taylor, Western Canada and KIJHL Champion Beaver Valley Nitehawks, now advance to the Keystone Cup April 14-17 in Regina, Saskatchewan.

First game is Thursday against Thunder Bay Northern Hawks.


Categories: Sports

Other News Stories