Today’s Poll

Wranglers knock off defending champion Dynamiters to clinch 2016 KIJHL Title

The Nelson Daily Sports
By The Nelson Daily Sports
April 1st, 2016

In 2015, Kimberley netminder Tyson Brouwer was “All World” in backstopping the Nitros to the Kootenay International Junior Hockey League championship.

This year is was Zane Steeves turn to lead his 100 Mile House Wranglers to the top of the KIJHL.

Steeves turned aside 40 of 41 shots to lead the Wranglers to a 2-1 victory over the Dynamiters in Game five of the KIJHL best-of-seven series Thursday night in 100 Mile House.

The win gives 100 Mile House a 4-1 decision in the League Championship Series and the first KIJHL title in team history.

The contest appeared to be heading for extra time until Brady Ward sent Wrangler fans into the next atmosphere scoring the winning goal with under four minutes remaining in the game.

The score was tied 1-1 after Brett Harris scored a power play goal in the first period for 100 Mile House and Eric Buckley replied in the second for the defending KIJHL champs.

For the second straight game the Dynamiters out shot the Wranglers, 41-32 in Game five.

However, Steeves proved to be the difference as the Red Deer native continuously frustrated the Kimberley snipers, holding the Nitros to 10 goals in the five-game series.

100 Mile House now prepares to respresent the KIJHL at the Cyclone Taylor Cup next week in Victoria.


Categories: Sports

Other News Stories