Today’s Poll

Nelson Curling Club Crowns League Playoff Winners

The Nelson Daily Sports
By The Nelson Daily Sports
March 22nd, 2016

Nelson Curling Club wrapped up the 2015-16 season with its League Playoffs Saturday.

Major winner’s included the Nando Salviulo rink capturing the Men’s Title, the Marla Dreher rink taking home bragging rights in the Ladies League and the Brent Pihowich foursome walking away with the Mixed Crown.

The Salviulo rink, including third Grand Davidson, second Harry Davidson, leaad Joe Duncan and fifth Bill Levey, defeated the Randy Zelonka rink in the final to capture the title.

Salviulo got past Garry Meadows in the semi final round.

Ladies Champs, Dreher, third Deanna Cownden, second Deanna Holitzki defeated the Kristina Little rink in the final.

Little’s rink includes third Carol Bennett, Marcie Stefiuk and lead Terri Wilkinson.

Mixed Champs, Brent Pihowich rink of third Kathy Centrone, second Al May and lead Karen MacDonald, defeated the Douglas rink to claim the top prize.

League playoffs capped off a very busy year for the Nelson Curling Club, the highlight was the hosting of the BC Men’s Provincial Curling Championship won by the Jim Cotter rink from Vernon.

As well the youth development program delivered curling to hundreds of school age participants.

There were also many events and bonspiels hosted by the Nelson Club during the season.

Registration for the 2016-2017 season will take place beginning in September of 2016, please visit our web site for more curling information at

Categories: Sports

Other News Stories