Today’s Poll

Fire ban partially rescinded in Southeast Fire Centre

By Contributor
September 28th, 2014

Effective at noon (PDT) on Friday, September 26, Category 2 open fires will be permitted within the Southeast Fire Centre due to a decreased risk of wildfires.

However, Category 3 open fires are still prohibited within the Southeast
Fire Centre’s jurisdiction, with the exception of the Columbia Fire Zone.

The public is now permitted to:

  • Burn material in one pile not exceeding two metres in height and three metres in width.
  • Burn material concurrently in two piles each not exceeding two metres in height and three metres in width.
  • Burn stubble or grass over an area that does not exceed 0.2 ha.
  • Use fireworks, sky lanterns or burning barrels.

Anyone who wishes to light a fire should take the following precautions:

  • Ensure that enough people, water and tools are on hand to control the fire and to prevent it from escaping.
  • Do not burn in windy conditions. The weather can change quickly and the wind may carry embers to other combustible material and start new fires.
  • Create a fireguard of at least one metre around the planned fire site by clearing away twigs, grass, leaves and other combustible material.

The rescinding of the Category 2 open fire prohibition in the Southeast Fire Centre applies to all BC Parks, Crown lands and private lands, but does not apply within the boundaries of local governments that have forest fire prevention bylaws and are serviced by fire departments. Check with civic authorities for any other restrictions before lighting a fire.

The Southeast Fire Centre covers the area extending from the U.S. border in the south to Mica Dam in the north and from the Okanagan Highlands and Monashee Mountains in the west to the B.C.-Alberta border in the east. It includes the Selkirk Natural Resource District and the Rocky Mountain Natural Resource District.

Categories: General

Other News Stories