Today’s Poll

Leafs hand out team awards on eve of Cyclone Taylor Cup

The Nelson Daily Sports
By The Nelson Daily Sports
April 7th, 2014

Nelson Leafs tuned up for the Cyclone Taylor Cup by handing out its annual team awards Sunday evening.

The big winner on the night was Jamie Vlanich, who grabbed the team MVP and leading scorer awards during the ceremony.

Vlanich not only led by example all season, but topped the KIJHL in scoring before getting hurt near the end of the season.

Nelson Minor Hockey grad Carsen Willans finished the KIJHL playoffs as Nelson’s top scorer with five goals and 10 assists in 12 games.

Other awards winners included Linden Horswill, Sportsmanship award; Brandon Sookro as Most Improved; Rookie of the Year, Alex Wilkinson; Unsung Herio, Travis Wellman; Coaches Award, Blair Andrews; Captain Darnel St. Pierre, Spirit Award; Austin Lindsay, Education Award; goalie Brad Rebagliati, Citizenship award; top defenceman was Robson Cramer; and most popular player went to forward, and best-dressed Leaf, Aaron Dunlap.

Longtime Leaf executive member, Gord Davis, was awarded the Leafs Volunteer of the Year.

See Cyclone Taylor preview.

Categories: Sports

Other News Stories