Today’s Poll

Neptunes conclude season with strong showing at Nanaimo provincials

The Nelson Daily Sports
By The Nelson Daily Sports
August 26th, 2012

A handful of Nelson Neptune swimmers took to the road to see how they stack up against the best in the province at the B.C. Summer Swim Association Championships held recently in Nanaimo.

Madeline Holitzki, Samuel Matthew, Matthew Holitzski and Jaylen Rushton were the only Neptunes to attend the provincial meet but still registered very impressive results.

“I am happy with the results as it was most of the swimmers’ first provincial meet,” said Neptune skipper Rebecca Affortd.

“Almost every race, especially in preliminaries, was a best time with most of them taking off about two or three seconds.

Rushton recored the best finish of a Neptune, placing seventh in 50 meter butterfly.

Rushton also had a two top-20 results — 11th 50 meter breaststroke and 15th in 100 meter freestyle.

Madeline Holitzki edged into the top ten in 50 meter butterfly (10th) and ninth in 50 meter breaststroke.

The up-and-coming swimmer also finished 20th in 50 meter backstroke,  to go with a 17th 100 meter individual medley.

Samuel Matthew placed 13th 200 meter IM, 18th in 50 meter butterfly, 15th in 100 meter backstroke, 11th in 100 meter breaststroke

Matthew Holitzki checked in with a 21st in 100 meter IM, 20th in 50 meter butterfly, 23rd in 50 meter backstroke and 17th in 50 meter breaststroke.

“I have seen so much improvement in all of the swimmers regardless if it was their first year or they have been swimming over five years,” Afford said.

“They have been diligent to change their technique — the basis of their propulsion in the water and continuation in the sport to avoid injury. 

“It was so great to see the older swimmers inspire the younger ones and begin to take a leadership role in the team,” she added. ” It was so great to have the seniors volunteer coach and promoting team spirit.”

As the season concluded in Nanaimo, the Neptunes handed out the team awards.

Female Aggregate: Sage Cowan                        

Male Aggregate: Samuel Matthew

Most Improved Female Swimmer: Jaylen Rushton

Most Improved Male Swimmer: Lachlan Bibby-Fox

Best New Female: Ohia Wintraub

Best New Male: Logan Wright

Most Sportsmanlike Female Div. 1-3: Devan Andrusak

Most Sportsmanlike Male Div. 1-3: Matthew Holitzki

Most Sportsmanlike Female Div. 4-8: Nava Sachs

Junior Spirit Award: Madeline Holitzki

Senior Spirit Award: Sage Cowan

Excellence in Mental Strength Female Div. 1-3: Sabien Edney

Excellence in Mental Strength Male Div. 1-3 : Rohan Moola

Excellence in Mental Strength Female Div. 4-8: Katie DeJong

Coaches Award Female Div. 1-3: Olivia Cowan

Coaches Award Male Div. 1-3: Cameron Bibby-Fox

Coaches Award Female Div. 4-8: Joanna Blishen

Coaches Award Male Div. 4-8: Samuel Matthew

Leadership: Emma Borhi and Hannah Sachs

Categories: Sports

Other News Stories