Today’s Poll

Columbia Basin Trust welcomes new board members

Lone Sheep Publishing
By Lone Sheep Publishing
February 3rd, 2021

In a media release, Columbia Basin Trust announced the introduction of two new members to its Board of Directors as Codie Morigeau and Aimee Watson join the team effective January 1, 2021.

Morigeau, a nominee of the Ktunaxa Nation Council, and Watson, a nominee of the Regional District of Central Kootenay replaced Larry Binks and Vickie Thomas.

Binks and Thomas conclude six-year terms.

 “I would like to welcome Codie and Aimee to the Trust’s Board of Directors and look forward to working together to support the work of the Trust moving forward,” said Katrine Conroy, Minister of Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations and Rural Development, and Minister Responsible for Columbia Basin Trust.

“I also thank exiting Board members Larry Binks and Vickie Thomas for their years of dedicated service and wish them the best.”

The CBT said Jocelyn Carver of Nelson remains as the Board Chair – her second term in that position, and David Raven remains in his position as Vice-Chair for a second term as well.

 “We look forward to the perspectives and leadership that Codie and Aimee will bring to the Trust’s Board of Director,” said Trust Board Chair Jocelyn Carver.

“Their expertise and relationships in the Basin will be a valuable complement to our team.”

“We also bid a fond farewell to Larry and Vickie who brought so much passion and unique experience to the work of this Board – thank you,” Carver added.

 Morigeau was raised in the Ktunaxa Nation community of ʔaq̓am and lives in Cranbrook.

She has worked with the Ktunaxa Nation since 2001 and is currently the Director of Education and Employment on a temporary assignment as the Director of Traditional Knowledge, Language, and Culture.

Morigeau is also the President of the Ktunaxa Kinbasket Child and Family Services Board and has served on the ʔaq̓am Chief and Council and the Ktunaxa Nation Executive Council.

Meanwhile, Watson has called Kaslo home since 2004, leading Kaslo’s “Lawns to Gardens” initiative, developed a food forum for North Kootenay Lake Community Services Society, and helped establish the Kaslo Food Security project, eventually opening the doors in 2009 to the first accredited Food Hub in Canada.

In 2014 Watson was elected the Electoral Area Director for Area D in the Regional District of Central Kootenay and is currently the Chair of its Board of Directors.

 The Trust is governed by a 12-member Board of Directors. The five Regional Districts in the Basin and the Ktunaxa Nation Council each nominate a Director, and the Province of BC appoints the remaining six directors.

All Directors must reside in the Basin.

Categories: General

Other News Stories