Today’s Poll

Selkirk College Students Celebrate Semester’s End with Music for Food

Kirsten Hildebrand
By Kirsten Hildebrand
December 10th, 2017

Contemporary Music & Technology Program students are wrapping up their semester at Selkirk College with a celebration for a great cause. Student and instructors will perform together at Spiritbar on December 14 with all proceeds going to the Nelson Food Bank.

Students are excited to celebrate and show off their hard work and dedication by giving people a memorable night filled with fantastic music. Student-based bands, each featuring a Selkirk College Music instructor, will bring funky and groovy sounds that the audience won’t soon forget.

”Giving our students real-life experiences in the creating of shows, especially a show of this calibre, is so important for the start of their careers,” says Selkirk College Instructor Laura Landsberg. “I can speak on behalf of all teachers when I say we are all very proud of the students and what they have accomplished and created.”

To kick the night off are The Jupebox All-Stars. A powerhouse of vocal and instrumental talent performs the music of “Post Modern Jupebox,” taking audiences back in time with doo-wop, swing, and funk versions of contemporary pop/rock tunes. Bring your dancing shoes! This ensemble features Emily Slaney, Jonah Miller, Erin L’Heureux and Jobé Chen-Dokouroff on vocals, Nicholas Dicastrion drums, Carley Selles on keys, Trevor Unruh on bass, Nick Morgen on guitar as well as Don MacDonald and Levi Schulhauseron sax.

Get ready for a groovin’, southern twist that will rock you to your feet with the Soul Shakers. Its swinging charm and vibrant vibes are sure to get you dancing all night so don’t miss it! Soul Shakers features Madeleine King, Diana Uglov, Elijah Bekk and Bethany Petch, Laura Landsberg on vocals, Clayton on drums, Christopher Bilec on bass, Cole Senger and Davis Yates on guitar with Selina Heyligers-Hare and Elijah Bekk on keys.

ENSEMBLE XIII – Relax Editionwill be laying down a sweet mix of rare grooves and dancehall moves. Ensemble XIII delivers a smack-talkin’ set of quirky contemporary pop and chilled nu-soul.  Get on up and dance your face off. Ensemble XIII features Dari Marshall, Jelayna Murdoch, Tessa Freay-McLean and Emi Woodwolf on vocals, Graeme Rife on drums, Dean Bass on “you guessed it,” Logan Contino on guitar as well as Devon Gestrin and Havelock John Tucker on keyboards.

Are you ready for a set of originals that will have you blasting on the dance floor? Well, grab your spot and watch the Smokin Phatties ensemble dominate the stage with an incredible team of songwriters in a collaboration set. Presenting Matt Flankon guitar, Jonny Bono Dudaron vocals/harmonica, Ryan Hommy on keys/guitar/vocals, Amon Carpenter  on vocals, Blue Klaassen-Wright playing drums, Jack Blaue on bass and Melody Diachun on vocals.

Closing the night will be ZoSo, who brings you an evening of great music from the Led Zeppelin catalogue without the bell bottoms. Rocking the night away will be Madi Dixonon guitar/vocals, Darren Mahe (guitar/vocals), Tomas Caldwell on bass, Calvin Reidon drums, Shannon Sargenton vocals and Selina Heyligers Hare on keys/guitar/vocals.

Selkirk College’s Year End Celebration Show starts at 9 p.m. Doors open at 8 p.m. The cover charge will be $10 or $5 for students. All proceeds will be going to Nelson Food Bank.

Categories: General

Other News Stories