Today’s Poll

RDCK moves to Stage 2 water conservation measures for all RDCK water systems

Regional District of Central Kootenay
By Regional District of Central Kootenay
July 10th, 2024

Effective immediately, the Regional District of Central Kootenay (RDCK) is implementing mandatory Stage 2 Water Conservation Measures for all RDCK water systems.

The RDCK currently operates 18 water systems that includes:

  • Balfour
  • Burton
  • Duhamel
  • Edgewood
  • Erickson-Arrow Creek
  • Fauquier
  • Grandview Properties
  • Lister
  • Lucas Road
  • McDonald Creek
  • Riondel
  • Rosebery Highlands
  • Sanca Park
  • South Slocan
  • West Robson
  • Woodbury Village
  • Woodland Heights
  • Ymir

The RDCK said that Stage 2 Water Conservation Measures have been implemented due to increased demands and near-capacity water treatment plant production, with anticipated extreme hot/dry weather in the forecast.

Stage 2 Water Conservation Measures include:

  • Watering of lawns, gardens, trees and shrubs using a sprinkler or irrigation system is ONLY permitted between 6—10 a.m. and 8 — 10 p.m.
  • Watering of gardens, trees and shrubs using a hand-held hose with a shut-off nozzle, a watering can, or drip-irrigation system is still permitted anytime.

The RDCK appreciates your cooperation in adhering to the above water conservation measures.

Stage 2 Water Conservation Measures will remain in effect until further notice. Stricter water conservation measures may be required if demand increases significantly or hot and dry weather persists.

Click here for a complete description of RDCK water conservation measures stages 1 through 4, or visit

Categories: EducationGeneral

Other News Stories