Today’s Poll

KIJHL releases 2024-25 schedule, hosts AGM in Nelson

The Nelson Daily Sports
By The Nelson Daily Sports
July 3rd, 2024

The Kootenay International Junior Hockey League has released its 2024-25 regular season schedule, which begins on Friday, September 20th with 18 of the league’s 21 teams in action.

The schedule release comes days after league governors met in Nelson at the Annual General Meeting.

All KIJHL teams will play a 44-game regular season that includes 34 games each against divisional and conference opponents and one game each against teams from the alternate conference.

For inter-conference play, Okanagan-Shuswap Conference clubs will host opponents from one division in the Kootenay Conference while travelling to the other division, and vice versa:

  • Teams in the Doug Birks division host teams from the Neil Murdoch division

  • Teams in the Eddie Mountain division host teams from the  Doug Birks division

  • Teams in the Neil Murdoch division host teams from the Bill Ohlhausen division

  • Teams in the Bill Ohlhausen division host teams from the Eddie Mountain division

The KIJHL will observe a holiday break from December 22-26 with games resuming December 27th and the regular season concluding on Saturday, February 22nd.

The KIJHL playoffs begin on Friday, February 28th when 16 teams begin their quest for the Teck Cup.

The 2024-25 regular season schedule includes a total of 462 games.

Key dates include the first-ever KIJHL regular season home games for the Quesnel River Rush (Friday, September 20th vs. Merritt), Williams Lake Mustangs (Friday, September 20th vs. Sicamous) and Merritt Centennials (Friday, September 27th vs. Kamloops), as well as the lone rematch of the 2024 Teck Cup Finals between the defending champion Revelstoke Grizzlies and runner-up Fernie Ghostriders on Saturday, December 7th in Revelstoke.

The KIJHL’s 2024-25 exhibition schedule will be released in the coming weeks.

AGM Highlights:


With the Merritt Centennials, Quesnel River Rush and Williams Lake Mustangs all joining the KIJHL’s Okanagan-Shuswap Conference, the KIJHL’s Board of Governors has approved the following re-alignment within the Doug Birks and Bill Ohlhausen divisions:

Doug Birks Division:

  1. 100 Mile House Wranglers
  2. Chase Heat
  3. Kamloops Storm
  4. Quesnel River Rush
  5. Williams Lake Mustangs

Bill Ohlhausen Division:

  1. Kelowna Chiefs
  2. Merritt Centennials
  3. Osoyoos Coyotes
  4. Princeton Posse
  5. Revelstoke Grizzlies
  6. Sicamous Eagles


KIJHL team governors and staff were provided with an update regarding the ongoing Junior A, Tier 1 application and evaluation process being overseen by Blacksin Sports Group. As of the dates of the 2024 AGM, 12 of the league’s 21 clubs had received their site visit from Blackfin’s assessment team, with the remainder of these visits scheduled for July and August. The KIJHL expects to receive Blackfin’s completed review by November 1, 2024.


The KIJHL has once again increased the number of 20-year old players who are eligible to participate on a member club with the maximum number rising from 6 to 7 for the 2024-25 season. The KIJHL has also completed a three-year agreement with The Prospects Exchange to become the exclusive video analytics provider to KIJHL teams.

The league is also excited to announce an increased role for Mark Berry, who has been promoted to the role of Director, Broadcast & Multimedia. Mark will work closely with KIJHL members to enhance the quality of their Flo Hockey broadcasts while also working to grow and enhance the KIJHL’s digital and video offerings.


Brett Holt (Columbia Valley Rockies, Eddie Mountain Division) and Jake Swanson (Beaver Valley Nitehawks, Neil Murdoch Division) were re-elected to the KIJHL’s Executive Committee, which oversees day-to-day league business on behalf of the Board of Governors, on new two-year terms. They join Mark McNaughton (Princeton Posse, Bill Ohlhausen Division) and Matt Kolle (Kamloops Storm, Doug Birks Division), whose terms expire in June 2025. Brett Holt will continue in his position as the Chairperson of the KIJHL.

Quesnel River Rush head coach and general manager Dale Hladun was elected to the KIJHL’s Hockey Operations Committee, where he joins Derek Stuart (Kimberley Dynamiters, Eddie Mountain Division), Terry Jones (Beaver Valley Nitehawks, Neil Murdoch Division) and Mark McNaughton (Princeton Posse, Bill Ohlhausen Division).

The KIJHL’s Board of Governors approved the creation of a Hockey Administration Committee, which will be tasked with projects that include an evaluation of the league’s schedule length and format as it continues its transition to Junior A hockey. Darryl Adamson (Chase Heat), Barb Anderson (Fernie Ghostriders), Sheila Devost (Sicamous Eagles) and Dave Hnatiuk (Grand Forks Border Bruins) were elected as the inaugural members of the Hockey Administration Committee.

About the KIJHL

The Kootenay International Junior Hockey League is a Junior A, Tier II league with 21 teams, 20 member clubs in B.C.’s Interior and Cariboo region and one in Washington State. Since its establishment more than 50 years ago, the KIJHL has developed hundreds of players who have moved onto college and professional hockey, including the National Hockey League. Among the KIJHL’s NHL alumni are Greg Adams (Nelson Leafs), Travis Green (Castlegar Rebels), Ray Ferraro (Trail Jr. Smoke Eaters), Shea Weber (Sicamous Eagles) and Derek Ryan (Spokane Braves).

— Source KIJHL

Categories: Sports

Other News Stories