Today’s Poll

Abraham, Chipman selected Top Scholar Awards at LVR — Proctor, Jackson earn Outstanding Athletes

The Nelson Daily Sports
By The Nelson Daily Sports
June 13th, 2024

L.V. Rogers saluted its athletes for the past school sport season during the annual year-end barbecue at the Fairview-based school.

Not only did LVR want to salute its athletes, but also the coaches and sponsors that allow Bomber sports to continue to flourish on the BC High School Sports scene.

“A huge thank you goes out to all of our coaches and teacher-sponsors for volunteering countless hours, weekends and effort for our programs,” said LVR Athletic Director Ryan McKinnon, who also coaches the Bombers Senior Varsity Boy’s Basketball Team.

-“We had 17 total sports this past year and over 200 student-athletes take part in school sports.”

McKinnon said  LVR teams found terrific success all around the province this school year.

At the provincials, we had the Senior Girls volleyball team placed seventh overall while the Senior Girls and Boy’s Soccer Teams captured 11th and 12th place spots, respectively.

Other results included the LVR Girls Cross Country team finishing second overall, the Girls’ Rugby eighth as well as many unbelievable individual performances in Cross Country, Track and Field and Swimming.

Top Scholar Athlete Award Winner:
  • Maya Abraham and Luke Chipman
Outstanding Athlete Award Winner (Single Sport):
  • Atlyn Proctor and Tanner Jackson
Outstanding All-Around Athlete Winner (Multiple Sports):
  •  Mitchell Erickson and Megan Bonikowsky
Major Award Winners:
Maya Abraham, Mitchell Erickson, Tanner Jackson, Atlyn Proctor

Bomber Award Winners: Robyn Bunyan (Sr. Girls Volleyball), Johann Concepcion (Sr. Boys Volleyball), Ibex Kelly (Track & Field), Gabe Liddell (Jr. Boys Volleyball), Roman Van’t Land (Tennis), Ruby Nay (Cross Country), Anton Robel (Jr. Boys Basketball), Forest Bokser-Wishlow (Jr. Boys “B” Basketball), Ally Nicholson (Girls Soccer), Stephen Vissers (Sr. Boys Basketball), Hannah Freeman (Girls Rugby), Dawn Cooke (Girls Basketball), Ethan Markevich (Boys Rugby). Missing: Arthur Lewandowski (Boys Soccer), Kallie Badry (Swimming) and Ethan Wayling (Golf). — Submitted photo

Bomber Award Winners:
  • Robyn Bunyan (Sr. Girls Volleyball)
  • Johann Concepcion (Sr. Boys Volleyball)
  • Ibex Kelly (Track & Field), Gabe Liddell (Jr. Boys Volleyball)
  • Roman Van’t Land (Tennis)
  • Ruby Nay(Cross Country)
  • Anton Robel (Jr. Boys Basketball)
  • Forest Bokser-Wishlow (Jr. Boys “B” Basketball)
  • Ally Nicholson (Girls Soccer)
  • Stephen Vissers (Sr. Boys Basketball)
  • Hannah Freeman (Girls Rugby)
  • Dawn Cooke (Girls Basketball)
  • Ethan Markevich (Boys Rugby).
  • Arthur Lewandowski (Boys Soccer)
  • Kallie Badry (Swimming)
  • Ethan Wayling (Golf)

Outstanding Athlete Award Winners for single sport, from left, Principal Dan Rude, Atlyn Proctor, Tanner Jackson and LVR Athletic Director Ryan MacKinnon. — Submitted photo

Categories: Sports

Other News Stories