Today’s Poll

Bombers sprint to Kootenay High School Zone Track and Field title

The Nelson Daily Sports
By The Nelson Daily Sports
May 24th, 2024

The L.V. Rogers Bombers walked away with the team title at the Kootenay High School Zone Track and Field Championships Wednesday in Cranbrook.

The Bombers edged out the host Mount Baker Wild of Cranbrook by five points to claim the zone crown.

LVR finished with 164 points.

Golden won the bronze with 98 points while Fernie placed fourth with 90.

Ruby Nay won both the 3000 meters and 1500 meters girls distance races while Mitch Erickson duplicated the double gold medal performance in the boys — winning 3000 meters and 1500 meters.

Aleah Smith won gold in the 800 meters while Maya Abraham, who also competed in the 100 meter hurdles, won the top place in the girls javelin event.

Ibex Kelly took the top place in the 200 meter race.

LVR’s Allison Hung, Nay, Smith and Abraham won the 4 X 400 girls relay while the Ryder Nash, Erickson, Briar Novitsky and Kelly combined to claim the 4 X 400 boys relay gold medal for the Bombers.

The Bomber athletes will represent the zone at the BC High School Track and Field Championships June 6-8 in Nanaimo.

LVR will be joined by 800m winner Cade McCarthy and Trafalgar Thunder runner Dawson Abraham, who won the junior boys 800, 1500 and 3000-meter races.

Categories: Sports

Other News Stories