Today’s Poll

Applications now being accepted for Carver Emerging Writers Award

By Contributor
March 22nd, 2022

The Nelson and District Arts Council and Elephant Mountain Literary Festival request assistance in nominating emerging writers in West Kootenay communities for the 10th Annual Carver Award.

The award, which comes with a $500 cash prize, will be presented at the Elephant Mountain Literary Festival on June 25th, 2022.

Nominations must be for writers just starting in their careers who have had one to two books published, or an equivalent body of work published in anthologies or literary journals. The work must be creative, literary writing, including fiction, creative nonfiction, poetry, and writing for children and teens.

Self-published authors are eligible. Nominees, who must reside in the West Kootenay, are judged using three criteria: quality of work, the strength of nomination, and community engagement.

Nominations must include name and contact information for both the nominator and the nominee, writing discipline (fiction, creative nonfiction, poetry, teen, children’s, etc), titles of published works and their publishers, and a paragraph outlining the reason for the nomination. 

Richard Carver was a lover of the arts and the Kootenays, and he was invested in the community.

He was a mover and shaker on the board of the Nelson and District Arts Council, the primary sponsor of this award named in his honour. His daughter Jocelyn Carver, an arts lover herself, has continued the family’s generous support of this award. 

The 2021 recipient of the award Sarah Beauchamp said receiving the Richard Carver Award for Emerging Writers was an incredible honour.

“Sharing my writing has always been about how the right words, read at the right time, can inspire people,” Beauchamp explained.

“I believe that writing has the power to change larger narratives, and as writers, if we can connect with just one person and shift how they see the world, that is what it is all about. Being recognized by this writing community further motivated me to keep writing my truth and share it with the world because as writers, we all have something important to say.”  

After Richard passed away in 2009, the Arts Council founded this award, which has been awarded eight times. Children’s author Darcee O’Hearne was the recipient in 2013, followed by poet Jane Byers in 2014.

In 2015 the Elephant Mountain Literary Festival became a partner in the award, which that year was split between two deserving authors, Susan Dancer and Avi Silberstein. The recipients in 2016 were Donna Macdonald and Alanda Greene.

In 2017 the recipient was Diana Morita Cole. In 2018 the Carver Award honoured longtime literary advocates Morty Mint and Ernest Hekkanen, and 2019 the award returned to recognition of an emerging writer, poet Rayya Liebich.

In 2020 author Danielle LaRocque was honoured and in 2021 writer Sarah Beauchamp was chosen by an arms-length jury to receive the award with an honourable mention for the work of Vera Maloff.

For full information please visit the Nelson and District Arts Council website at Nominations are submitted at

Inquiries may be sent to: with “Carver Award” in the subject line.

The deadline for nominations is Monday, April 18th, 5 p.m. 2022.

Photo Caption: Former Board member of the Nelson and District Arts Council Richard Carver was a lover of the arts and the Kootenays, and he was invested in the community. — Submitted 

Categories: Uncategorized

Other News Stories