Today’s Poll

Mallard's Team of the Week — 1967-68 Cyclone Taylor Champs Nelson Jr Leafs

The Nelson Daily Sports
By The Nelson Daily Sports
January 5th, 2021

As junior hockey teams around the province await permission from the BC Public Health Office to resume play during COVID-19 pandemic, Mallard’s Source for sports thought it would be fitting to take a look back at Nelson’s only B.C. Junior B Hockey Championship for the Team of the Week.

In 1968, the Leafs, coached by Fritz Koehle, defeated Vancouver’s Grandview Steelers 2-0 in the best-of-three final to capture the Cyclone Taylor Championship.

Nelson won the West Kootenay Junior B Hockey League with an undefeated record before defeating the Okanagan League winner to advance to the BC Championship.

The team includes, in no specific order, Al Arnett, Bob Borgeson, Bruce Ferguson, Darvin Gierl, Rod Silver, Jim Boyce, Bob Charter, Bob Fitchner, who went on to play in the National Hockey League, Terri Kinrade, Bob Jeffs, Doug McMullin, Bruce Rossini, Rich Vulcano, Terry Wickstrom, Larry Zimmer, George Karasz and Hoggy Carmichael.

Management team included head coach Fritz Koehle, manager Ross Allen, trainer Gerry Koehle, trainer Rudy Boates and President Don Porteous.

Categories: Sports

Other News Stories