Today’s Poll

Kootenay Columbia MP elected to chair NDP BC Caucus

Nelson Daily Staff
By Nelson Daily Staff
February 13th, 2019

In a media release, it was announced that Kootenay–Columbia MP Wayne Stetski has been elected Chair of the federal NDP’s B.C. Caucus.

During the 2015 federal election, British Columbia elected 14 NDP Members of Parliament, second only to Quebec. The NDP’s B.C. Caucus meets weekly to discuss federal issues important to the people of British Columbia in order to better represent these issues in the House of Commons.

“It is an honour to be given the opportunity to lead this great group of men and women who truly care about the constituents they work for,” said Stetski in the media release.

Peter Julian, a 14-year veteran MP from New Westminster–Burnaby, said Stetski has shown real leadership in the House of Commons and in all of the work that he does in Parliament.

“That’s why his colleagues have elected him chair of the B.C. Caucus,” Julian said.

Stetski takes over the post after past B.C. Caucus Chairs include Sheila Malcolmson, who was recently elected as a provincial MLA for Nanaimo, and Kennedy Stewart, who was elected Mayor of Vancouver last fall.

“It is a privilege to be following in their footsteps,” said Stetski.

In addition to his new role as B.C. Caucus Chair, MP Stetski is Vice-Chair of Parliament’s Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development, Founder and Co-Chair of the All Party Cycling Caucus, and Vice-Chair of the Canada–Philippines Parliamentary Friendship Group.

The Burnaby South seat vacated by Stewart will be decided during a byelection February 25. Current NDP Leader NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh is running againstthe Liberals’ Richard Lee, Conservative Jay Shin, Laura-Lynn Tyler Thompson of the People’s Party of Canada (PPC) and independent candidates Valentine Wu and Terry Grimwood.

Categories: General

Other News Stories