Today’s Poll

Andrew Wilkinson claims BC Liberal Party leadership in marathon vote

Nelson Daily Staff
By Nelson Daily Staff
February 5th, 2018

During a “Whistle Stop” tour of the Kootenays, BC Liberal leadership hopeful Andrew Wilkinson told the partisan audience he was the person to take on John Horgan of the NDP as the next leader of the BC Liberal Party.

After capturing the BC Liberal Party leadership race Saturday in Vancouver, Wilkinson will get his wish.

The MLA for Vancouver-Quilchena pulled off a late come-from-behind, fifth-ballot win over Dianne Watts to capture the BC Liberal Party Leadership race.

Wilkinson, 60, becomes the third elected leader of the party in 25 years, following Christy Clark and Gordon Campbell.

He on the fifth ballot with just over 53 per cent of the vote over Watts, who led the first four ballots, came second with 46.9 per cent.

Wilkinson is a physician turned lawyer who has served as MLA for Vancouver-Quilchena since 2013.

He served as both minister of advanced education and minister of technology, innovation and citizens’ services in the Christy Clark government and holds degrees from the University of Alberta, Dalhousie University and Oxford University, where he attended as a Rhodes Scholar.

Former BC Finance Minister Mike de Jong, Vancouver-Langara MLA Michael Lee, former Transportation Minister Todd Stone, Vancouver-False Creek MLA Sam Sullivan were also entered the leadership race.

Wilkinson said during his stop in Nelson that he was pleased with the support received during Kootenay tour, which had stops in both Cranbrook and Creston.

“It has been going very well . . . every town I’ve been to has shown a lot of support.”

He’ll be looking for that support when he returns to the BC Legislature as the official leader of the opposition party BC Liberals.


Categories: Politics

Other News Stories