Today’s Poll

Spring forward into Daylight Savings Time Sunday

The Nelson Daily Sports
By The Nelson Daily Sports
March 10th, 2016

It’s probably one of the most dreaded days on the calendar — the morning when most people lose an hour of sleep.

Sunday morning is the start of Daylight Savings Time, the time of the year when the clocks are pushed forward one hour.

The practice, when time springs forward at 2 a.m. Sunday, occurs the second Sunday in March.

Previously, Canada had observed Daylight Saving Time from the first Sunday in April until the last Sunday in October.

However, through legislation passed in 2006, Daylight Saving Time now begins three weeks earlier, on the second Sunday in March, ending on the first Sunday in November.

This change in Daylight Saving Time kept Canada’s Daylight Saving Time pattern consistent with the United States which enacted into law a broad energy bill that extended Daylight Saving Time in the same manner.

Some areas of Canada not using Daylight Saving Time include, Fort St. John, Charlie Lake, Taylor and Dawson Creek in British Columbia, Creston in the East Kootenays, and most of Saskatchewan (except Denare Beach and Creighton).

Other places that do not participate in DST are Arizona and Hawaii — along with the U.S. territories of Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands.

Categories: General

Other News Stories