Today’s Poll

Mallard's Team of the Week — Grads 2004-2005 Team

The Nelson Daily Sports
By The Nelson Daily Sports
January 8th, 2015

Bomber grads return every year to enjoy the Christmas festivities with family and play in the Annual Blair D’Andrea Memorial Alumni Basketball Tournament on Boxing Day at the L.V. Rogers Hangar.

More than 45 players flocked to their old basketball court to slip on the runners and compete against Bomber stars of yesteryear.

Grad 2004-2005 Team claimed the crown by rolling to a 5-0 record in the five team tournament.

Grad 2004-2005 Team clinched the title with a thrilling 52-50 overtime thriller of the championship game. The runner-up Grad 2009-2012 squad finished with a 4-1 record and was led by former Mount Royal University point guard Chase Rickaby and former Columbia Bible College guard John Zak. 

Mallard’s Source for sports applauds all the grads, but especially the winning Grad 2004-2005 Team, with Team of the Week.

Grad 2004-2005 Team consists of Jake Phelan, Addison Rickaby, Bryan Gaschnitz, Ryan Golik, Braden Klein, David Joseph, Galen Taylor and Jesse McLaughlin, Galen Taylor, Jesse McLaughlin and and underclassmen Avery Kushner.

The tournamentraised more than $1,400 for the Blair D’Andrea Alumni Scholarship Society fund supporting post-secondary athletes and grassroots basketball development in the West Kootenays.

Categories: Sports

Other News Stories