Today’s Poll

Mallard's Team of the Week —Mountain Spirit Triathlon Club

The Nelson Daily Sports
By The Nelson Daily Sports
August 1st, 2014

For the past two months, the Mountain Spirit Triathlon Club — a local non profit sports club — has been gearing up for the 2014 Nelson Cyswog’n’ Fun Triathlon set for Lakeside Park.

The club kicks off training in May, turning novice athletes into triathlete machines that set goals of finishing the Olympic or Short Course distances as a goal.

Mallard’s Source for sports would like to honour the Mountain Spirit Triathlon Club with Team of the Week status.

Members of the team stood for a team shot before a training run of the actual race distance last week.

Members include, Graham Jamin, Michael Hoher, Roger Fontaine (coach), Barb Williams, Heather Rae, Linda Johannson, Sam Van Schie and coach Peter Ward. Middle, Claudia Rouseau, Lorelei Sullivan, coaches, Janice Poetsch, Janice Morrison and Debbie Bird, Dave Harasym, Val Yowek, Kelly Crawford, Hazel Miller, Peter Moll, Nancy Lewis, Peter Lee (coach) and Sylvie Masse. Front, Laurilee Commandeur, Marie-Michele Gagnon, Kevin McGuire, Victor Commandeur, Rob Crawford and Chris Lalonde.

Not included in the above photo, John Knox (head coach) Tanya Finley, Fiona Galbraith, Brent Holowaychuk, Brent Irving, Lindsay Jennings, Mike Kosof (coach), Yvonne Kiwior, Jessica Larocque, Danica Lee (coach),  Anna Lamb-Yorski, Yev Malloff (coach), Bruce McMaster, Kara Montefiore, Ron Osborne, Jan Osborne, Allison Schlosser, Blaire Smith, Kristen Spearman, George Trainor, Denise Uhrynuk (coach) and Naomi Zeindler-Olsen.

The horn to kick off the 2014 Nelson Cyswog’n’Fun triathlon blows at 8 a.m. sharp Sunday (August 3) from Lakeside Park beach with athletes from all over the Pacific Northwest jumping into the water for the event.

The short course competitors — 500 metre swim, 22 kilometer ride and five km run run — follow the long course participants into the water.

The main Olympic Course race is 1.5 kilometre swim a 39 km cycle and 10 km run.

Participants swin Kootenay Lake in front of the Lakeside Soccer fields to Chahko Mika Mall parking lot and back before hopping the bike for the cycle ride along the North Shore of Kootenay Lake.

Competitors return to the tranistion point at Lakeside Park for the run across the Big Orange Bridge.

In 2013, Eddie Smith of Penticton ran away with the men’s long course top prize while Sarah MacArthur of Calgary won the women’s race after Helen Munro of Kelowna was disqualified.

In the short course race Ian Sharp was crowned the men’s winner after it was determined that Connor Breitkreuz of Robson missed a turn, forcing race officials to disqualify the local competitor.

For complete information go to the Nelson Cyswogn Fun website.

Categories: Sports

Other News Stories