Today’s Poll

Don't forget to 'Spring Foward' Sunday to begin Daylight Savings Time

Nelson Daily Staff
By Nelson Daily Staff
March 7th, 2014

It seems like only yesterday most Canadians were being asked to set their clocks back an hour.

Sunday morning, those same Canadians will lose an hour sleep as Daylight Savings Time 2014 kicks in.

The practice, when time springs forward at 2 a.m. Sunday, occurs the second Sunday in March.

Previously, Canada had observed Daylight Saving Time from the first Sunday in April until the last Sunday in October.

However, through legislation passed in 2006, Daylight Saving Time now begins three weeks earlier, on the second Sunday in March, ending on the first Sunday in November.

This change in Daylight Saving Time kept Canada’s Daylight Saving Time pattern consistent with the United States which enacted into law a broad energy bill that extended Daylight Saving Time in the same manner.

Some areas of Canada not using Daylight Saving Time include, Fort St. John, Charlie Lake, Taylor and Dawson Creek in British Columbia, Creston in the East Kootenays, and most of Saskatchewan (except Denare Beach and Creighton).

Other places that do not participate in DST are Arizona and Hawaii — along with the U.S. territories of Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands.

Categories: General

Other News Stories