Today’s Poll

Three more Liberal MLA's decide not to run in next election

Nelson Daily Staff
By Nelson Daily Staff
August 31st, 2012

The hits just keep on coming for Premier Christy Clark as three more high-profile Liberals confirmed they will not run in the upcoming provincial election, bringing the total number of MLAs to officially jump ship to 10.

Thursday morning John Les, the parliamentary secretary to the premier, added his name to the departed Liberals group when he confirmed rumours that he would not run again for his seat in Chilliwackwith a statement posted on his website.

A short time later Minister of Children and Family Development Mary McNeil, the MLA for Vancouver-False Creek also issued a statement confirming rumours she would not run again in May.

Then Education Minister and Shuswap MLA George Abbott also confirmed at a news conference Thursday he won’t seek re-election in the May provincial election.

“While I do not come upon this decision lightly, I do so with a strong sense of accomplishment and gratification from my more than 30 years in public life,” Abbott said on his website.

All three departures come on the heels of Kevin Falcon’s news Wednesday he was stepping down at Finance Minister.

The premier’s office noted before the Liberals win in the 2005 election 17 B.C. Liberal MLAs decided not to run again, and before the most recent 2009 election, 10 Liberal MLAs decided not to run, including six cabinet ministers.

Clark said was preparing to shuffle her cabinet shortly to fill the vacant positions and prepare for the coming election.

Clark said Shirley Bond, Minister of Justice and Attorney General will serve as Acting Finance Minister in the interim.

Minister Bond already serves as Deputy Chair of Treasury Board and alternate Finance Minister.


Categories: Politics

Other News Stories