Today’s Poll

Six new members join CBT’s youth advisory committee

Nelson Daily Staff
By Nelson Daily Staff
October 12th, 2011

CBT welcomed six new members to its Youth Advisory Committee (YAC) this past weekend in Golden.

YAC members are motivated and involved youth age 15-29 who provide advice on youth-related grants and events at CBT.

“Engagement and leadership are two key areas of CBT’s recently finalized 2011-2016 Youth Strategic Plan,” said Wayne Lundeberg, CBT, director Youth Initiatives. “The YAC is an important means for CBT to engage with Basin youth and through their participation they are able to build their own skills as leaders.”

Prospective YAC members go through an application process and are selected to volunteer on the committee by the previous year’s committee members.

The commitment to serve on the YAC is a minimum one-year term. This commitment involves a weekend meeting every two months and review of all Columbia Basin Youth Grant applications.

This is a task unique to this CBT advisory committee and was specifically given to the group to further promote the active engagement of youth in regional decision-making processes.

“I am glad to be back for a second year with CBT’s YAC,” said returning Fruitvale member Zeb Hansell. “The committee has made me feel empowered and valued. It has been good for me personally to have my opinions heard, and it has enriched my life to know diverse people from the Basin.”

“I am excited to be a new member of the YAC because I would like to know more about what is going on in my community and assist in making change happen,” said new Nelson member Blake Nicol.

“It will be empowering to see projects funded by CBT’s Youth Initiatives be completed throughout the Basin.”

YAC members are also often asked to become involved in a number of CBT and community events and youth forums, to special projects and website moderating.

Welcome new members: Jaya Ducharme (Winlaw), Sierra Franklin (Canal Flats), Tessa Jackson (Nelson), Blake Nicol (Nelson), Jane Rolandi (Cranbrook) and, Taryn Walker (Revelstoke).

Returning members are: Laura Archer (Golden), Miranda de Groot (Cranbrook), Matt Fontes (Castlegar), Zeb Hansell (Fruitvale), Zachary McClean (Golden) and Kyler Perepolkin (South Slocan).


The 2011 new YAC meet with returning members in Golden, BC. From L-R: Miranda de Groot (Cranbrook), Sierra Franklin (Canal Flats), Tessa Jackson (Nelson), Jane Rolandi (Cranbrook), Jaya Ducharme (Winlaw), Taryn Walker (Revelstoke) and Zeb Hansell (Fruitvale). Seated L-R: Zachary McClean (Golden), Blake Nicol (Nelson) and Kyler Perepolkin (South Slocan)


Categories: Uncategorized

Other News Stories