Today’s Poll

Nominations close for City, regional district, school board elections

Nelson Daily Editor
By Nelson Daily Editor
October 16th, 2011

Incumbent Mayor John Dooley will have to contend with two other candidates as he seeks his third term as the city’s top politician.

Nominations closed Friday in the municipal elections in the area, with Dooley facing Richard Rowberry and George Mercredi in the race for the mayor’s seat Nov. 19.

Also returning into the City council fray will be five councilors — Deb Kozak, Robin Cherbo, Bob Adams, Donna Macdonald and Marg Stacey — with only Kim Charlesworth electing not to let her name stand.

Three new names will be put forward in that race, with Paula Kiss, Charles jeans and Candace Batycki to appear on the Nov. 19 ballot sheet.

Regional district

Only four regional district areas will not have an election this November as the candidates have no opposition: Area A (Gary Jackman), Area C (Larry Binks), Area J (Gordon Zaitsoff) and Area K (Paul Peterson).

Current RDCK chair and Area B director John Kettle will face opposition in his bid to retain his position from Ed McNiven.

In Area D, Ron Greenlaw and incumbent director Andy Shadrack will resume their battle, while Area E incumbent Ramona Faust will face a ghost from the past in former director Josh Smienk.

The Area F race heated up with Mike Keegan deciding to challenge incumbent director Ron Mickel for the directorship, while Hans Cunningham puts his several decades in politics on the line as he faces Bruce Montgomery, Mark Bennett and Werner Kraus for the Area G position.

Long-time valley resident Will Parker will challenge incumbent director Walter Popoff for Area H, and it will be a four-way race for Area I with Andy Davidoff, Owen Morris Sandra Smith and Larry Walker going after John Voykin’s vacated directorship.

Other municipalities

There will be no election in Salmo as the council and the mayor positions have been elected by acclamation, returning Ann Henderson for a third term as mayor and installing candidates Jennifer Pell, Bob Vliet, Merle Hanson and Janine Haughton and councilors.

In Kaslo, like Nelson, the incumbent mayor (Greg Lay) will face two other candidates: Patrick Mackle and Teresa May. Candidates for council include Jim Holland, Rob Lang, Lynda Beddow, Jill Braley, Mel Bryce, Donna Cormie, Suzan Hewat and Molly Leathwood.

In New Denver Ann Bunka has been acclaimed as mayor and there are eight candidates for council: Heather Fox, Jason Hartley, Dennis Butler, Anita Dumins, Nadine Raynolds, David Hodsall, Henning Von Krogh and Wanda Palmer.

Further south in Silverton former councilor Carol Bell is running for mayor as is former councilor Kathy Provan. However, council nominations have been extended to Monday at 4 p.m.

Hillary Elliott leads the list of candidates in Slocan for council as Jessica Lunn, Patricia McGreal, Jean Patterson, Nick Verigin and Glenda Zwer also have decided to let their names stand. For mayor, incumbent Madeleine Perriere will face John Gates.

School District No. 8 (Kootenay Lake)

City of Nelson/Bealby Point (2)

  • Curtis Bendig, William Maslechko, Bob Wright

Town of Creston (1)

  • Paullette Francoeur, Melanie Joy, Heather Suttie

South Rural Zone (2)

  • Vladimir Certik, Bob Gollan, Annette Hambler-Pruden, Rebecca Huscroft, Verna Mayers-McKenzie

Village of Kaslo and North Rural Zone (1)

  • Dawn Lang

Crawford Bay, East Shore and North Zone (1)

  • Lenora Trenaman

Salmo, Taghum and Blewett (1)

  • Art Field, Isabelle Herzig, Sheri Huser, Kevin Michael Misurak

Slocan Valley, Bonnington (1)

  • Barbara Lindsay

Categories: Politics

Other News Stories