Today’s Poll

Tyee wins its second Edward R. Murrow Award

Nelson Daily Staff
By Nelson Daily Staff
June 15th, 2011

B.C.’s foremost online source of news and culture, the Tyee, has made a bit of history by winning a coveted 2011 National Edward R. Murrow Award.

No other Canadian website has received the North America-wide award. This is the second time The Tyee has received the prize, after winning it in 2009.

Previous winners include the Washington Post, the Dallas Morning News, the Washington D.C.-based Center for Public Integrity and the Texas Tribune.

The Murrow, named after the famed American broadcaster who filed gripping accounts of the Second World War and stood up to the Communist scare witch hunt led by Senator Joe McCarthy, is granted by the Radio Television Digital News Association, based in Washington D.C.

The RTDNA “has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971,” says the organization’s website.

“Murrow’s pursuit of excellence in journalism embodies the spirit of the awards that carry his name. Murrow Award recipients demonstrate the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the electronic news profession.”

The Tyee won the 2011 Murrow in the category of Website, Online News Operation — National.

Other winners of Murrow Awards in the category of Online News Operation — National this year include the Associated Press for Overall Excellence, and Reuters for Video News Documentary.

You can check out the Tyee at

Murrow Award winners in other categories include NBC News, CBS News, National Public Radio, the Seattle Times and CNN.

The Tyee was the only Canadian entity to receive a National Edward R. Murrow Award this year.

Categories: Uncategorized

Other News Stories