Today’s Poll

PM names new cabinet as vacancies necessitate shuffle

By Contributor
May 18th, 2011

The results are in and Prime Minister Stephen Harper has shuffled the Conservative government deck once again in the aftermath of a federal election.

Here’s how the cards have played out:

John Baird is the new foreign affairs minister, replacing Lawrence Cannon, who was defeated in the May 2 election. Baird was recently house leader.

Tony Clement will move to Treasury Board where he’ll preside over cuts to the civil service.

Peter Van Loan will take over as leader of the government in the House of Commons. Innu leader-turned-MP Peter Penashue will become minister of intergovernmental affairs.

Dénis Lebel becomes Transport minister and Ed Fast takes over International trade.

Other ministers

  • Peter MacKay stays as minister of defence
  • Rob Nicholson remains justice minister
  • Vic Toews will remain public safety minister
  • Rona Ambrose stays in charge of the department of public works and government services, as well as status of women.
  • Embattled minister Bev Oda stays at the Canadian International Development Agency.
  • Jim Flaherty will remain finance minister, in keeping with the government’s focus on stability.
  • Jason Kenney will continue to lead citizenship and immigration.
  • James Moore will stay at Canadian heritage.
  • Leona Aglukkaq will remain minister of health.
  • Peter Kent stays minister of environment.
  • Lisa Raitt stays minister of labour.
  • Gerry Ritz remains with the agriculture file.
  • Gail Shea moves to national revenue from fisheries and oceans
  • Keith Ashfield takes over fisheries from his previous role as national revenue minister.
  • Maxime Bernier returns to cabinet as minister of state for small business.

Categories: Politics


Other News Stories