Back to top

Trail Allstars rout Layritz to finish BC Championships with a win

The Trail Allstars include, back row, L-R, Mike Boisvert (Coach), Jim Maniago (Coach) and DJ Ashman (head coach). Middle, Cody Wert, Izack Dawson, Koa Wintraub, Connor Stainer, Chance Fisher and Jake Maniago. Front, Reid Gerrand, Brady Augustin, Nathan Dann, Calvin Morrison, Landan Uzeloc, Aiden Paterson and Tyler O’Keefe.

Trail Allstars snapped its winless streak, scoring double digits to romp past Layritz 11-0 in round robin action at the BC Little League Baseball Championships in Victoria.

The win allowed Trail to finish out of the basement with a 1-5 record.

Connor Stainer and Nathan Dann each had three RBI to power the West Kootenay reps to the lopsided victory.

Trail, with players from Castlegar, Nelson, Salmo and the Silver City, scored three in the third before blowing the game open with eight runs in the fifth frame.

Trail finished the game with 13 hits.

Reid Gerrand, Tyler OKeefe, C Fisher, Brady Augustin, Jake Maniago and Landon Uzeloc each knocked in a run.

Winning pitcher was Koa Wintraub of Nelson who tossed a complete game, allowing two hits while striking out seven and surrendering two base on balls.
White Rock, finishing the round robin on top with eight wins, defeated host Beacon Hill 5-1 in the semi-final to advance to the championship against New Westminster.