Back to top

Team Medford claims top prize at Doug Bothamley Cashspiel

Doug Bothamley Cashspiel A Event winners, back row from left, skip Chris Medford, third Steve Tersmette, second Mitch Young, lead Jeff Langin and Doug Bothamley Cashspiel organizer Nando Salviulo. Front, Hannah Tersmette and Jasper Tersmette. — Submitted photo

Team Medford of Kimberley/Cranbrook defeated fellow East Kootenay rink Ken McHargue in the A Final to capture the annual Doug Bothamley Cashspiel Sunday at the Nelson Curling Club.

Team Medford, consisting of skip Chris Medford, third Steve Tersmette, second Mitch Young and lead Jeff Langin, took home the top prize of $2050 in the weekend cashspiel.

B-event went to Kevin Maffioli of Grand Forks/Rossland. The Maffioli rink consists of third Colin Anderson, second Rob Darrah and lead Darryl Popoff.

Skip Josh Firman, third Marcus Partidge, second Dev Devine and lead Greg Terrill  of Creston won the C Event while the Tom Pellerin rink of Cranbrook claimed the D event.

Team Pellerin consists of skip Tom Pellerin, third Steve Bruder, second Chris Nemick and lead Brett Johnson.

The cashspiel attracted a total 18 teams from Elkford, Kimberley, Cranbrook, Creston, Castlegar, Beaver Valley, Trail, Rossland, Grand Forks, Vernon, Kelowna and Nelson.

Local rinks included Gary Meadows, Marla Dreher, Jana Bidwell, Brent Pihowich, Nando Salviulo and Rick Cutler.

The Salviulo has three Junior Curlers included on the team — Zach Wolfram at lead, Reece Whitehead playing second and Devin Anderson at third.

The squad captured second place after round robin play before losing to Medford in semi-final action.

Organizers would like to thank all of the many sponsors that made donations to make the  Doug Bothamley Cashspiel happen.

Doug Bothamley Cashspiel B Event winners include, from left, skip Kevin Maffioli, third Colin Anderson, second Rob Darrah, lead Darryl Popoff and organizer Nando Salviulo. — Submitted photo