Back to top

Columbia Basin Trust announces changes to Board

Nelson resident Jocelyn Carver has been elected Chair of the Columbia Basin Trust board, replacing Rick Jensen. — Submitted photo

The Columbia Basin Trust board has elected a new chairperson to replace retiring Rick Jensen a media release said Monday.

Columbia Basin Trust announced that Jocelyn Carver has been elected Chair of the board.

CBT also announced that David Raven has been elected Vice-Chair and Castlegar’s Bill van Yzerloo is joining the board as a director.

“Ever since I moved here in the mid-1990s, I’ve been struck by the commitment to community development and regional self-determination that characterizes so many Basin communities,” new CBT Board Chair Jocelyn Carver said in a media release.

“I look forward to engaging even further with these efforts in my new role as Chair, alongside Vice-Chair David Raven, who has continually proven himself on the Trust Board and in other notable positions in the region. I also welcome Bill van Yzerloo to our impressive roster of directors; his dedication to the region will undoubtedly benefit it.”

Carver is replacing former Chair Rick Jensen, whose departure was announced earlier this month.

A Nelson resident, Carver has been on the Trust Board since January 2018, and on the Trust’s subsidiary board, Columbia Basin Development Corporation since July 2017. Since 2015, she has been the Executive Director of Kootenay Career Development Society and has also worked in human resources and marketing/outreach at the Kootenay Co-op, sat on the founding board of Kootenay Co-op Radio and contributed to the creation of the Upper Columbia Cooperative Council. Her term with the Trust expires December 31, 2020.

Vice-Chair Raven was raised in Nakusp and now lives in Revelstoke.

He had a 35-year career with the British Columbia Forest Service and served as Mayor of the City of Revelstoke and Chair of the Columbia Shuswap Regional District. He has also previously been a Trust director, from March 2012 to December 2014 and starting again in September 2017. Over the years he has dedicated himself to various organizations, including the Revelstoke Chamber of Commerce, Revelstoke Ski Club and Revelstoke Rotary Club. His term with the Trust expires December 31, 2020.

Bill van Yzerloo was born and raised in Castlegar. He returned there in 2014 after his career took him to Calgary, where he most recently worked as Chief Financial Officer with Inter Pipeline. His term with the Trust expires December 31, 2021.

The terms for the following directors were renewed: Murray McConnachie (Trail, expires Dec. 31/21) and Vickie Thomas (expires Dec. 31/20).

Continuing directors are: Carol Andrews (Castlegar, expires Dec. 31/21), Larry Binks (Creston, expires Dec. 31/20), Corky Evans (Winlaw, expires Dec. 31/20), Don McCormick (Kimberley, expires Dec. 31/21), Ron Oszust (Golden, expires Dec. 31/20), Owen Torgerson (Valemount, expires Dec. 31/20) and Krista Turcasso (Fernie, expires Dec. 31/20).

The Trust is governed by a 12-member Board of Directors. The five regional districts in the Basin and Ktunaxa Nation Council each nominate a director, and the Province of BC nominates the remaining six directors. All directors must reside in the Basin.

Columbia Basin Trust supports the ideas and efforts of the people in the Columbia Basin. To learn more about the Trust’s programs and initiatives, and how it helps deliver social, economic and environmental benefits to the Basin, visit or call 1.800.505.8998.

Vice Chair David Raven (left), who now lives in Revelstoke, has been elected Vice-Chair of the Columbia Basin Trust while Castlegar’s Bill van Yzerloo is joining the board as a director. — Submitted photos