Back to top

Mungall asks public to decide recipients of Queens Jubilee Medals

MLA Michelle Mungall and the Queens Diamond Jubilee Medal shortlist committee is asking residents in the Nelson-Creston riding to get to their computers to vote online or by phone for community members to receive the prestigious prize.

The committee of respected community members reviewed all the nominations received during the month of August and has narrowed the field to 13.

From these 13, the public will vote and choose the final four who will have their names put forward to receive medals.  
“Nominations came in from all corners of the constituency, for people from all walks of life” said Mungall. 

“It was great to read about so many amazing people doing amazing work in the community.” She adds, “I know it was difficult for the short listing committee to choose only 13. “  
The short listing committee, representing all regions of the constituency was made up of Salmo Village Councillor Janine Haughton, Creston Advance Editor Brian Lawrence, Columbia Basin Trust Southwest Community Liaison and long-time Nelson resident Rona Park, and Kaslo’s JV Humphries principal Dan Miles.
The online vote will take place September 7 -21.

Residents can learn more about each nominee at and then vote once from their computers or by phone. The person with the most votes from each area  — North Kootenay Lake, Nelson and district, Salmo/Ymir, Creston Valley — will be forwarded on to the Queen for a Diamond Jubilee medal that commemorates community service.
Mungall would like to encourage everyone to log onto her website or call the office, 1-877-388-4498, to help decide who of the following outstanding citizens will be put forward to the Queens Selection Committee:

The shortlist includes:

Kaslo/North Kootenay Lake: Steve Anderson, Bruce Walker and Hugh Walker.
Nelson Area: Gordon Broster, Marg Stacey, Joan Reichardt and Mary Ann Morris.
Salmo/Ymir: Andrew Raney, Dorothy Hearn and Mary Jean Taylor.
Creston Valley: Phil Thomas, Anne Hepher and Shannon Nickisch.

Photo caption: The Short List Committee includes, L-R, Brian Lawrence, Dan Miles, Michelle Mungall, Janine Haughton and Rona Park. — submitted photo